
The Journal · Community
YPO requirements and membership cost: what is published
YPO requirements, current global dues and how EO compares. Separate eligibility, joining fees and chapter charges before deciding which room fits.

YPO requirements combine age, operational leadership, employees and company size. The current application also publishes global dues and an initiation fee, with chapter dues on top. For a founder comparing YPO and EO, check eligibility first, then ask whether the local room and its full commitment fit the decisions you need help thinking through.
YPO requirements, as YPO states them
The age, leadership and size tests
YPO, the Young Presidents' Organization, asks applicants to meet one requirement from each of four criteria:
- Age: under 45.
- Leadership: the top operational leader of the company or division, with final decision-making authority, full P&L accountability and the authority to hire and fire across the business.
- Employees: 50 full-time employees, or at least 15 full-time employees with a minimum of $2,750,000 in annual employee compensation.
- Company size: one of the following thresholds:
- Sales, service or manufacturing: $16,000,000+ in revenue
- Agency: $13,000,000+
- Financial institution: $330,000,000+ in assets under management (AUM)
- Enterprise value: $27,000,000+, supported by an independent valuation
Eligibility is only the first question
Meeting the size tests tells you that you may apply. It does not tell you whether the room will be useful. A founder who is managing her first team needs different conversations from one who has handed over operations and is thinking about the next decade of the business.
Before committing, ask what is actually discussed in a forum, how deep those discussions go and who attends. Are the other members at a similar stage, in comparable industries, facing comparable decisions? Some chapters run information sessions. They are worth attending, but they show you the organization at its most polished, so treat them as one input rather than the decision.

What YPO membership costs
YPO publishes its global figures:
- Initiation fee: $4,790, paid once.
- Annual global dues: $4,790, prorated by the month you are accepted. Members accepted in April, May or June pay prorated dues for the current fiscal year plus the full dues for the next one.
- Increases: dues rise each year by at least the rate of inflation (CPI), and renewal is due on June 1.
- Refunds: dues are nonrefundable once you are accepted.
- Chapter dues: set locally and not included in the global figures.
The global figure is not the all-in cost of a particular chapter. Ask the chapter for an itemized quote that shows the renewal date, which events are included, the travel and time commitments, and what happens if you need to pause or leave.
EO's requirements and dues
The Entrepreneurs' Organization (EO) sets a lower bar and a different shape of commitment.
- Leadership: owner, founder or majority stakeholder of a business with at least $1,000,000 in revenue in the most recent fiscal year. EO also publishes a separate route for venture-backed companies, based on capital raised and headcount.
- Global dues: $2,470 a year, prorated by the fiscal month you join.
- Initiation fee: $3,500.
- Chapter dues: set locally and not included.
YPO vs EO, side by side
| Criteria | YPO | EO |
|---|---|---|
| Age | Under 45 | Not stated on the cited page |
| Leadership | Top operational leader with final decision-making authority, full P&L accountability and the authority to hire and fire | Owner, founder or majority stakeholder |
| Employees | 50 full-time employees, or 15 full-time employees with $2,750,000+ annual employee compensation | Not stated for the revenue route |
| Company size | Sales, service or manufacturing: $16,000,000+ Agency: $13,000,000+ Financial institution: $330,000,000+ AUM Enterprise value: $27,000,000+ |
$1,000,000+ in revenue |
| Global dues | $4,790 per year | $2,470 per year |
| Initiation fee | $4,790 | $3,500 |
| Chapter dues | Vary by chapter | Vary by chapter |
If you are under the revenue line
If your business does not yet meet either revenue test, look for a peer group built around the problems in front of you now: hiring, delegation, pricing, the first senior team.
EO Accelerator is EO's separate program for founders below the full membership line. Its page lists a revenue band from $250,000 to $1,000,000 and a fee of $1,750 per participant, plus local fees, prorated from your start date through June 30. Treat it as a program in its own right rather than a guaranteed route into EO.
Whichever group you look at, judge the format and the people rather than the name. Prestige is a poor proxy for whether the room will help with the decision you are actually facing.
What to ask a chapter before you apply
- Which company metric does the chapter accept, and which documents prove it?
- How long does acceptance take, and what are the steps?
- What is the total first-year cost, local and global, in writing?
- What attendance is expected, and what happens if you miss meetings?
- How is confidentiality handled inside the forum?
- What are the renewal terms, and can you pause or leave?
Ask the same questions of YPO and EO so the comparison is fair. Dues and thresholds change, so confirm the current figures on the official pages on the day you apply, and get the chapter's terms in writing.

Read why the room is a business asset when weighing the format as well as the eligibility checklist.
If you are building a company and want a room of women doing the same, apply to The Longevity Social Club.
Common questions
- How much does YPO membership cost?
- YPO's current application lists annual global dues of $4,790 plus a one-time $4,790 initiation fee. Dues are prorated by the month you are accepted, rise each year by at least the rate of inflation, and exclude local chapter dues. Ask the chapter for an itemized quote before budgeting a first-year total.
- What are the requirements to join YPO?
- YPO asks applicants to meet one requirement in each of four areas: be under 45, be the top operational leader with P&L and hiring authority, meet an employee test, and meet a company-size test that varies by business type. Meeting the criteria makes you eligible to apply, not admitted.
- Can I join YPO after the age of 45?
- YPO's published criteria say applicants must be under 45 years old. The public page does not describe an exception, so if age or timing is close, contact YPO directly before you start an application or pay for any related service.
- Can anyone join YPO?
- No. YPO publishes age, leadership, employee and company-size requirements, and every member goes through an application. Use the published criteria to check whether you are eligible, then ask the chapter you would join how its own process and local terms work.
Sources
- 01YPO, Become a member, checked October 13, 2026 ↗
- 02YPO, Membership requirements, checked October 13, 2026 ↗
- 03Entrepreneurs' Organization, Apply for membership, checked October 13, 2026 ↗
- 04Entrepreneurs' Organization, EO Accelerator, checked October 13, 2026 ↗
Written by The Longevity Social Club. We publish the qualifier alongside the number: if a study measured something narrower than the headline, we say so. Nothing here is medical advice.
Longevity Social Club
Join the private community.
Founder circles, intelligence sessions and private tables — by application.
Continue Reading
More from the Journal

June 2, 2026 · 3 min read
The room is a business asset
Community is usually filed under support. The evidence suggests it belongs on the same page as capital and distribution.

October 15, 2026 · 5 min read
What is a mastermind group? Format, cost and fit
What a mastermind group does, how a session can run and what to ask before joining. Evaluate format, confidentiality and commitment before paying.

October 15, 2026 · 5 min read
Wellness retreats for women: what they cost, and how to choose one
Wellness retreats for women run from $109 a room to $1,250 a person a night. What the published rates include, what the evidence says, and what to ask.